Unwifeable: A Memoir

By Mandy Stadtmiller

Book Cover: Unwifeable: A Memoir

From the popular, “fresh, funny, and highly readable” (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller’s unflinching candor and brilliant wit.

My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love—and still find Mr. Right.

Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a “real-life Carrie Bradshaw” (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the PostNew York magazine, and xoJane.

But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn’t wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn’t magically somehow fix her—but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit.

Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life—Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can’t help but respond and relate to—perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola.

Published:
Genres:

The Dental Diet: The Surprising Link between Your Teeth, Real Food, and Life-Changing Natural Health

By Dr. Steven Lin

Book Cover: The Dental Diet: The Surprising Link between Your Teeth, Real Food, and Life-Changing Natural Health

Dr. Steven Lin, an experienced dentist and the world’s first dental nutritionist, shares the food-based health principles he has developed over the course of his career to ensure you have a healthy mouth and body for the rest of your life. Merging dental and nutritional science, Dr. Lin lays out the dietary program that not only prevents both dental fillings and cholesterol medications but gives readers the resources to raise kids who develop naturally straight teeth. From analyzing our ancestral traditions to epigenetics to exploring gut health and the microbiome, Dr. Lin provides the science behind his program and shares real-world applications.

The Dental Diet arms the reader with a 40-day meal plan to help you easily and successfully implement the techniques into your everyday life. The Dental Diet food pyramid, exercises for the mouth, recipes, and cooking techniques are provided in helpful and efficient detail. What’s good for the mouth is good for the body, and The Dental Diet shows readers that the tools to improve overall wellness levels and reverse disease are closer than we think—in our markets, our pantries, and, most frequently, in our mouths.

The Room on Rue Amélie

By Kristin Harmel

Book Cover: The Room on Rue Amélie

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can’t imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he’s really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting—and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis—and to open their own broken hearts—as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

Published:
Genres:

Best. Night. Ever.

By Rachele Alpine, Ronni Arno, Alison Cherry, Stephanie Faris, Gail Nall, and Dee Romito

Book Cover: Best. Night. Ever.

Love Actually meets Adventures in Babysitting in this hilarious novel written by seven authors about seven classmates who are preparing for a crazy night at their middle school dance.

Lynnfield Middle School is prepped and ready for a dance to remember, including an awesome performance from Heart Grenade, the all-girl band who recently won a Battle of the Bands contest. Seven classmates—Carmen, Genevieve, Tess, Ryan, Ellie, Ashlyn, and Jade—intend to make the most of the night…or at least the five of them who are able to attend do. The other two would sacrifice almost anything to be there.

One thing’s for sure—this entire crew is in for one epic night! Gail Nall, Dee Romito, Rachele Alpine, Ronni Arno, Alison Cherry, Stephanie Faris, and Jen Malone have created a charming, hilarious, and relatable novel that’s perfect for anyone who can’t wait to dance the night away.

Published:
Genres: